School News

The Siena Cypress & Key Supporter Awards

In 2007, the school established the Siena Cypress Leadership Award, given annually to recognize individuals who have made significant contributions to the education of students who learn differently. For centuries, Cypress trees have been planted to honor people of significant accomplishment. The Siena award, hand-crafted each year, includes a larger and smaller cypress tree and captures the spirit of the school reflecting mentorship, creativity and resilience.

William Stixrud, Phd., 2007

Rick Riordan, 2008

Claire Nissenbaum, 2009

Thomas West, 2010

Dr. Martha Denckla, 2011

Dr. Gordon Sherman, 2012

Dr. Larry Silver, 2013

Dr. Kathleen Nadeau, 2014
Marilyn Zecher, 2016

Key Supporter Awards

Atlantic Seaboard Dyslexia Education Center (ASDEC)

Judy Bass (Bass Educational Services)

Connie Belfiore (Friends Community School)

Ms. Suzanne Keith Blattner (ITS for Children and Families)

Elliot Blumenstein, Psy.D.
Kevin Bowlin, (Printing and Promotional Unlimited, Inc)

Timothy Brown (Arent Fox LLP)

Tom Carr, Carr Design and Construction Solutions LLC

Jose Dominguez (Pryamid Altantic Art Center)

Guinevere Eden, Ph.D.

Valerie Ervin (Montgomery County Councilmember, 5th District)

Bill Gray

Dave Gudes

George Washington University– Meltzer Psychological Center

Margaret R. Harrington, Ed.D. (Victory Schools)

Pastor Joel Hawthorne, Montgomery Hills Baptist Church

Susan Healy, (LDA-MC)
Anne Hoopes

Georgia K. Irvin/Pamela Tedeschi

Agnes Jones-Trower, Ph.D.

Pearl R. Kane, Ed.D. (Teachers College, Columbia University)

Terri King, Montgomery Hills Baptist Church

Michael Krasnow, Judge

Kennedy Krieger Institute

Natalia Kromeluk (The Field School)

Katherine K. Merseth, Ed.D. (Harvard Graduate School of Education)

E. Jane McCarthy

David Meininger, SFCCA

Montgomery Hills Baptist Church

Mr. Matthew Moyer (National Geographic)

NeuroBehavioral Associates

Ms. Caryn G. Pass (Venable LLP)

Mr. Lou Salza, M.Ed. (Lawrence School)

The School Counseling Group

Ms. Rhona Schwartz, M.A. (The Katherine Thomas School)

Larry B. Silver, M.D.

Aaron Smith, A. Morton Thomas & Associates, Inc.

Ruth B. Spodak, Ph.D. & Associates

Nancy Streim, Ph.D. (Univ. of Pennsylvania, Graduate School of Education)

Susan L. Van Ost, Ph.D.

Washington Scholarship Fund

Mr. Rich Weinfeld (The Weinfeld Education Group)

Ms. Abigail B. Wiebenson (Lowell School)

William R. Stixrud, Ph.D., & Associates

Ms. Janet L. Wintrol (Ivymount School)

Marilyn Zecher (ASDEC)

search login